Updated Frequently

Aquino names 22 new judges

Posted by on Sep 6th, 2013 and filed under Malacañang, National. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.

0Need at least 3 ratings

By PNA and U.S. News Agency / Asian

President Benigno S. Aquino III has appointed 22 new judges in different courts nationwide.

In a two-page transmittal letter of Executive Secretary Paquito N. Ochoa, Jr. to Supreme Court Chief Justice Maria Lourdes P. Aranal Sereno dated Aug. 30, 2013 but was sent to the SC on Sept. 5, 2013, new judges have been assigned to Zamboanga, Misamis Oriental and Occidental, Bukidnon, Davao, Mindoro, Quezon, Cebu, Surigao, Samar, Sarangani and Lanao del Sur provinces.

“I am pleased to transmit herewith the appointment letters of the following signed by His Excellency, President Benign S. Aquino III,” the letter said.

New appointees in Zamboanga are Judge Catherine Calumba Fabian of Zamboanga City Regional Trial Court Branch 16; Judge Felix Rodriguez of Pagadian City, Zamboanga del Norte RTC Branch 18; Judge Cherry Joy Concha-Ageas of Dipolog City, Zamboanga del Norte RTC Branch 10; Judge Anthony Dela Torre Isaw of the Zamboanga Sibugay RTC Branch 24; Judge Alnaiza Tungupon Hassiman of the Katipunan-Zamboanga del Norte 5th Municipal Circuit Trial Court.

In Misamis, appointed were Judge Alvyn Lopena of the Aloran-Panaon, Misamis Occidental 3rd MCTC; Judge Stephen Ian Belacho of the Calamba-Baliangao, Misamis Occidental 1st MCTC; and Judge Sabrina Balbon Lagamon of the Initao-Libertad, Misamis Oriental 8th MCTC.

In Bukidnon, newly-installed are Judge Jerlie Luis Requerme of the Impasugong-Sumilao, Bukidnon 3rd MCTC, and Judge Susan Son Azares of the Kibawe-Damulog-Kadingilan, Bukidnon 6th MCTC.

In Davao, Judge Magnolia Cassion Velez of the Digos City, Davao del Sur RTC Branch 20; Judge Nanette Gustillo Lemana of the Davao City, Davao del Sur Municipal Trial Court in Cities Branch 6.

In Cebu, Judge Kit Enriquez of the Bolijoon-Alcoy, Cebu 9th MCTC and Judge Jacinto Fajardo, Jr. of the Talisay City, Cebu RTC Branch 66.

Other appointees are Judge Gay Marie Lubigan-Rafael of the San Jose, Mindoro Occidental RTC Branch 46; Judge Alelie Briones-Garcia of the Polilo-Panukulan, Quezon Province 5th MCTC; Judge Ingrid Anne Riola-Bermido of the Padre Burgos-Agdangan, Quezon Province 3rd MCTC; Judge Noel Sermense of the Calbayog City, Samar MTCC; Judge Cesar Bordalba of the Dapa, Surigao del Norte RTC Branch 31; Judge Julieto Bajan of the Surigao City, Surigao del Norte MTCC Branch 2; Judge Arnel Amparo Zapatos of the Glan-Malapatan Sarangani 1st MCTC and Judge Osop Palagawad Abbas of the Wao-Bumbaran, Lanao del Sur 9th MCTC.

In the appointment papers signed by Aquino it said “by virtue hereof, you may qualify and enter upon the performance of the duties of the office, furnishing this Office and the Civil Service Commission with copies of your oath of office.”

The said appointees were screened by the Judicial and Bar Council chaired by Sereno, with three ex-officio members namely Justice Secretary Leila M. De Lima and Senator Aquilino “Koko” Pimentel III.

The three JBC regular members are Atty. Jose V. Mejia from the academe, Atty. Milagros Fernan-Cayosa from the Integrated Bar of the Philippines, and representing the private sector retired Court of Appeals Associate Justice Aurora Santiago-Lagman.

0Need at least 3 ratings