Updated Frequently

Poll winners proclaimed; candidate killed in chopper crash tops board member race

Posted by on May 17th, 2013 and filed under Provincial. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.

0Need at least 3 ratings

By PNA and U.S. News Agency / Asian

The provincial board of canvassers (PBOC) of Northern Samar proclaimed poll winners past midnight Thursday including incumbent San Roque mayor and board member candidate Andre Abalon who died after figuring in a chopper crash while on his way to a campaign trail last May 7.

Abalon of the National Unity Party (NUP) garnered 41,678 votes, the highest number of votes obtained among 20 aspirants for the Sanggunian Panlalawigan seats.

The incumbent mayor suffered severe head injury when the chopper that was supposed to transport him and two other board member-candidates – Dioscoro Asinas and Panoy Pinca – crash landed along the shore of Rawis village in Laoang town.

Abalon was immediately airlifted to a hospital in Cebu for further treatment but to no avail. He succumbed on elections day and his remains were brought home to San Roque town on Thursday.

A public viewing is currently ongoing at the town’s municipal gym prior to his burial slated on Monday.

Meanwhile, other winning candidates who were proclaimed included governor-elect Jun Ong of the NUP who with his overwhelming 113,763 votes unseated incumbent governor Paul Daza of the Liberal Party who garnered only 79,866 votes.

Ong’s running mate is vice-governor elect Gary Lavin who won over LPs Antonio Lucero with his 86,313 votes.

Also unseated was first district Rep. Raul Daza (LP) who got 44,281 votes against the 49, 451 votes garnered by the legislator-elect Harlin Abayon of the Nacionalista Party (NP).

Re-electionist Emil Ong, the owner of the chopper that crash landed, received a fresh mandate from his constituents at the second district with his 64,067 votes against the 41,256 votes of his challenger Ram Uy (LP).

Meanwhile, board members-elect for the first district included Joma Vicario (NPC), Jose Layon, Golda Ballesta and Neil Hernandez, all of LP and Vicvic Singzon of NUP.

Aside from Abalon, other board members-elect for the second district are Fawa Batula, Jack Lagrimas, and Dex Galit of LP and Gina Ong of NUP.

0Need at least 3 ratings